Life as a Business Owner

I’ve been extra busy these past 2 months, for which I’m very grateful! I’m thankful for all the wonderful customers I’ve had over the past few years. They’ve made my dream of running my own business a reality. Along with the dream of being my own boss and the sole designer I also took on the role of secretary, accountant, sales person, marketing professional, cook, nanny (mother), chauffeur and of course janitor.

I often wonder if people realize how complicated having one’s own business can be. I guess it would be easier if I didn’t also watch my little girls at the same time. While in the middle of designing an invitation Courtney (5) will come in and ask for a grilled cheese sandwich or to help her with something. I’m very often side tracked, but I love being home with her. I didn’t like leaving my kids when I had a full time job. It’s kind of silly to work somewhere else when your entire paycheck is going toward daycare. Luckily my mom watched Ashley and Courtney until I could take this leap to owning my own business. Thank you mom, we couldn’t have done it without you!!

Although it’s great being at home with the kids, I also really miss adult interaction. So I try to make play-dates with my friends who also stay at home with their kids. You really don’t know how much you miss seeing people until you no longer have that connection on a daily basis. In addition to kids play-dates I also do my best to have dinner dates with friends from time to time.

Balancing work and personal time is tricky. I often have to run errands and schedule things during my “business hours”. I really try to stick to those hours, however at times I find myself working after hours. This is definitely something I need to work on.

My husband has gone back to school for a degree in teaching Special Education. Currently he works in Sales at a paper company (no, not Dunder Mifflin, haha). So I rarely see him during the week and it’s been pretty hard emotionally. I guess we need to do a better job at making “date nights”.

Life has been crazy running my own business. But I wouldn’t trade it for the world!

Leave a Reply

